C3 1969 - Wheel Shake

Blondie69

CCCUK Member
Morning all,
Any ideas? C3 1969 has a violent shake. Random speed and I have not looked in deep just yet. It has been stationary for a while and driven very rarely. What should I look at first - tyres?? The front tyres do run on full lock so feel they may be too large but would that cause such a violent shack when moving. Complete beginner so any help appreciated ๐Ÿ‘

Roscobbc

Several things to look at Blondie.
If the car has 'old' tyres on it - so perhaps in excess of ten years old........they could be subject to damage from UV light and general degradation.
Some tyres can age harden and suffer from reduced grip even though seemingly in perfect condition).
Tread can de-laminate from tyre casing (inspect sidewalls and tread for micro-cracking.
If the car has been standing for a long period the tyres may be retrieveably 'flat spotted' (perhaps the cause of your issue)
Older casing damage to the tyre could result in tread separation when driving.....with the risk of a potential 'blow-out'.
Age of tyres can be determined by the following.

"The 'date of birth' is written on the tyre sidewall. Look out for a four-digit code. The first two figures represent the calendar week in which it was made (from 1 to 52) and the second two figures are the year of manufacture. So a code of 1316 would mean your tyre was made between 28th March and 3rd April 2016".
Otherwise look for missing balance weight on wheel that has the problem.
Inspection of steering and suspension components for excess wear..........or a combination of above items.
A knackered shock absorber can create shake (like you mention) as the wheel 'patters' up and down unrestrained by the shock absorber......it can be quite violent!

Forrest Gump

CCCUK regional rep