A rubbish guide to power windows

CaptainK

CCCUK Member
So, in my defiance of dodging the rain on Saturday by taking The Rainmaker to a show on Sunday (instead of when I booked it in on Saturday), the gods punished me by breaking my power windows so I would boil inside the car on the hot sunny Sunday. (errr... take the t-tops off? Nope - no space in boot for them).

Anyway, being a complete novice to how the power windows work, but do know a little about Googling, I thought I'd have a go.

First up, check the power window circuit breaker / fuse is ok. Its in the engine bay in the driver's wing on the firewall, next to where your brake booster is, and looks exactly like the one in this shameful clicky plug for a fellow "CK" (other vendors available) from where I stole their picture:
1691486308704.png

Run a continuity check of your choice over it, I prefer using a multimeter, but you can do whatever you want. No problems with mine, but power windows still not working.

Second, check the fuse box above your left foot in the driver's footwell (errr... you just said the power window fuse is in the engine bay?). You're looking for a loose / disconnected wire from the centre of the fuse box panel that can be kicked out accidentally by big feet etc. They'll be labelled "IGN" or "ACC" or some such and are quite obvious when you look, and will look a little like this Google image that may or may not be a 1968:
1691484727712.png
Check to make sure the wires in the middle are ok. Feel free to do continuity checks on the wires, check for voltages etc, and also check any fuses as well. Handy hint when checking the fuses - don't just check continuity from the end of the fuse to the other end - check from the TABS / WINGS holding the fuse on from one end to another. The fuse might be ok, but the connection from the TAB / WING to the fuse ends might be corroded and not doing a lot.
Mine were all ok, so I moved on as the power windows were still not working.