Halfords classic oil

PAZ9556

CCCUK Member
Hi guys just wondering if anyone has used Halfords classic oils ,is it any good or is it a no no .
I can’t find any zddp ratings for this oil .Your thoughts cheers

Jimbo64

CCCUK Member
Hi guys just wondering if anyone has used Halfords classic oils ,is it any good or is it a no no .
I can’t find any zddp ratings for this oil .Your thoughts cheers
Been using it for years in my Morris Minor's Rover V8 and no issues, but not in my C3, used Millers, which was recommended by a few on here.

kentvette

CCCUK Member
I haven't used Halfords Oil, I've been using Millers for many years. I have to say, a few alarm bells ring with Halfords as it is produced by Comma. Now, way back in the 70's, when I was in the motor trade, Comma had a rather poor reputation as being "re-cycled" oil. For that reason I've never used it.

I have nothiing against Halfords products as such, but I'd prefer to spend a little more to get an oil with a very good reputation.

The ZDDP figure can be misleading. The days of just buying the oil with the highest ZDDP have gone and now the other ingredients in the oil can alter the effectiveness of ZDDP. So, some oil manufactures do not list an actual figure, but prefer to tell you that the optimum amount is there.

Roscobbc

/|\
Everything Kentvette said above. There is an optimum concentration of ZZDP which I recall is 1200 ppm - go above that and it has as detrimental an effect as insufficient ZDDP concentrate. You'll struggle to find most makers actually state the specific content - you'll see vague references like "sufficient" and "correctly formulated for the older engines"..........

PAZ9556

CCCUK Member
/|\