Help - Engine question

langlj00

Busy user
Just arrived at work, on the way the car gave a very large backfire on hard acceleration (slight loss in power as it happened), but then seemed fine. Treated it gently up the motorway (5 miles), no issues. But when I arrived at work it wouldn't hold an idle and eventually died, and pushed it the last 2ft into a parking space (very ungraceful).
So question - do I try and start it again when I go home (lunchtime) - or if I've bent a pushrod or dropped a valve - should I leave it alone and call the AA?
In two minds........ - Ross?

CaptainK

CCCUK Member
Possible vacuum leak? My Vette randomly on the rare occasion under initial hard acceleration (aka if I suddenly put my foot down) does a large backfire, hesitates for a bit and then resumes - mostly because I've backed off by then.
Though I'm not that technical, so you'll probably get more helpful answers when the technical people have woken up.

Roscobbc

Mechanical fuel pump failure? - diaphram eroded by ethanol based fuel - still pumping some fuel in to the carb - perhaps enough to feed it under light throttle conditions - then it failed completely? - try that first

62 C1

CCCUK Member
If you managed to drive it another five miles it is probably okay to start. Was it making more noise than before the backfire afterwards? Have a look at your exhaust headers/manifold and check it hasn't come loose/blown the engine/header gasket or come loose at the exhaust/header connection. Problems here can cause hard acceleration backfires.

langlj00

Busy user
Update, started fine at lunchtime. No issues, stopped at temporary lights on way home. Cut out. Will not start, awaiting AA !?!

langlj00

Busy user
Mechanical fuel pump failure? - diaphram eroded by ethanol based fuel - still pumping some fuel in to the carb - perhaps enough to feed it under light throttle conditions - then it failed completely? - try that first
Thanks I happen to have a new one at home, when I get there…..