Looking at buying a c5

Jimmywick

CCCUK Member
I’ve had a Dodge Challenger for three years now srt and I do 25000 miles a year in it and I’m thinking of swapping for a c5 on an 04 plate what’s everyone’s thoughts on doing that mileage with one ???

teamzr1

Supporting vendor
I know multi C5 owners with around 200,000 miles on them and not needing any internal engine or tranny work
and just using a bit of engine oil
I have a 1999 C5 since 2000, and it runs like new
GM is pretty good on their LSx engine designs, and they are like bullets

If you're looking at 2003-4 MYs even the base engine is like the LS6 engine,
has a bit faster PCM and fuel injectors are a bit bigger, so is the MAF

Jimmywick

CCCUK Member
Thanks a lot I’m totally new to corvettes just fancied a change maybe but do alot of miles always thought they would be uncomfortable but test driven it and it was really comfortable

teamzr1

Supporting vendor
I have 4 screwed up discs in my spine and I have multi times drove round trip from Ca to Il (2,800 miles each way)
and only stop for like a 2-hour sleep and that is with race shocks, shorter height tires, and the car lowered, so C5 drives very well
This is with the sports seats, which are a bit stiffer

Oneball

CCCUK Member
Yes. They’re a proper modern car from a reputable manufacturer. Have a look on bring a trailer in the States and the intergalactic mileage some cars have done.

Stingray

CCCUK Member
So everyone would be happy for a c5 to be a daily drive and do miles ?
Yes. I had a C5 for more than a decade and they are great cars for the real world. Didn't do mega annual miles but they clocked up over the years.

The good thing about C5 is the car was thoroughly engineered from the outset. The limited number of regular faults that exist are well understood and generally not difficult/expensive to fix. Parts availability is generally very good although the specific "Euro" parts can be trickier to get. (Key fobs, TPMS sensors, headlamp units etc.)