Buying a ''69 to '72 C3

Rob Williams

CCCUK Member
Good Evening
I posted on this forum about a week ago and received some very helpful advice from CCC members. I was asking for help with purchasing an early C3 (bumper version)! Any advice really and as I'm new to the Marque didn't (don't) have much experience with these cars. I bit the bullet and became a club member although I seem to have just as many privileges now as I did as a non member. After researching and listening to the advice given by fellow CCC members the car for me is as follows. '69 to '72 C3, big block or small although the big block is amazing! A sound chassis and birdcage, and a complete original car. Matching numbers are not super important to me but yes obviously preferable. I realise that's maybe what everyone is after.
I've been looking in the UK and Europe but then followed a link from one of the forums to the unfortunately named "Car pervert" AKA Johny Smith. This individual has imported several cars from America using a logistical transport company named CFR Rinkens. Well, Johny it seems is well versed in the procedure and makes it sound viable. It looks like there's way more choice over the pond and cheaper prices which make the cost of a shipping agent and 5% import tax worth the hassle!
My big question is, and it wasn't on "Car perverts" video agenda, what is the best way to find the right car. I mean you wouldn't want to buy a car over the phone without seeing it but then it's not like you could just "pop over" for a viewing. Apparently you can pay to have a vehicle checked over before committing but that's a lot of trust! I suppose the obvious thing is to get on a plane have a holiday in America and buy a car at the same time!