CCCUK Culture

Nails84

CCCUK Member
Hi All,

As a first time Corvette owner and a new member to the cub I am interested to know what the culture is like at meets and events. As a new C4 owner I am absorbing a lot of content about these cars from different sources. I found this comment about this club on another forum and wandered what people's thoughts were? I don't want to upset anyone, I am genuinely interested. While some of the poster's comments are somewhat inflammatory, I have to admit that if I attend meets and events I would want to be talking cars as well. The quote is below:

"After a year of membership I'm not going to renew. I don't stray much out of Readers Rides or the Classics sub-forum on here but I found the Corvette UK forum to be pretty dead and racist comments dismissed as banter. I went to one Corvette meet and it was very disappointing. I was the youngest by about 20 years (and I'm 27 now, it's not like I'm still a student) and with about 15 people there, only 3 other Corvettes were present. Personally, if I'm going to a car club thing on a Sunday, I'm going to be a nerd about that car and want to share knowledge/stories about it with others. Not spend 3 hours having a Sunday lunch talking about anything but cars should the couples get bored?"

Pitre

Chairman, CCCUK.
Hi Nails,

I'm very interested to hear your comments. Sadly, there will always be negative comments posted about any club, particularly one as large as ours, spread right across the UK. There is a wide age demographic, but it's fair to say that many Corvette owners are in the 'cheaper insurance ' bracket! The regional meets do vary in levels of participation but hopefully by being involved you may be able to encourage others to go to your local gatherings, particularly now the weather is improving and there are many more events to choose from, depending on how far you're prepared to travel.