Future C3 Owner Questions

Nassau65

CCCUK Member
Next Question:
Naturally we must address things we pray never arise, but the need to carry a fire extinguisher is the sensible thing to do, so..

What are the recommended Fire Extinguishers?
🤔
I would think one fire extinguisher is as good as the other. Haven’t got one in the 65, my daily has a Chubb one.

Roscobbc

I'm no expert but understand that while a dry powder extinguisher may be an option the mess afterwards can be difficult to clear up. C02 seems a good option for fire involving petrol or other accelerant. I keep a large one in the kitchen at home - keep it handy if doing something fuel related on the Vette. Foam extinguishers make a wet mess perhaps?. Halon? is it legal except plumbed-in on a race car?

teamzr1

Supporting vendor
You need to consider what type of fire system you want
A system where there are nozzles pipped into the engine bay and the cabin area
Type that is automatic triggered
A hand pulled cable as the trigger
Or a simple unit like I have in my C5 which is mounted to a harness bar
I replace mine like every 5 years if needed to or not

Then need to consider where it could be mounted but also easy to get to quickly
The size you select might not fit where you want it, so consider location first and then match the size of unit

Most types are real cheap, works for vehicle and like kitchen fires
Get one that has a gauge on it that tells if fully charged or reports it needs to be replaced
and the mount has a quick way to release the unit from the mount

harnessbfireex.jpg

Last edited:

James Vette

CCCUK Member
I have a large extinguisher in the "boot" and still have room for the t tops next to it with a jumper inbetween to stop scratches. The extinguisher is wired up to soak the engine bay if need be.

Roscobbc