Is this C3 for me?

L303

Busy user
Hello,
I’m new here and hoping to join you all in ownership. I’ve been dreaming of a C3 for about 10 years and I finally found one not too far away and within my budget.

It’s a 1974, seems to run well, could be driven. It’s not perfect and there’s definitely a few issues to sort. It’s been dry stored with its current owner for over 20yrs. Some threads on the forum have come up on Google when I’ve researched bits, so thank you.

I’m finding it hard to know what’s too much when it comes to the birdcage and I’m wondering if any of you would help with your experience here? Is it unrealistic to get one without rust when it hasn’t been restored at all?

I took off the kick plate in the footwells and found rust, it’s not rotten through and is solid when you tap it but it is pitted towards the bottom and the washer/bolt look nasty. I do have pictures I could post later. From looking at it, it looks like I could wire wheel, treat the rust and protect the area along with new bushes and bolts.

under the car it seems like surface rust, can’t see any rot. From what can be seen down the windshield it looks ok too. Gone over it quite thoroughly, jacked (not on a lift though) but I am certainly no expert. I am worried about what I can’t see.

I’m looking for a drivers car and im willing to learn to do the work to keep it running and in decent shape but there will be a point where it’s just too much for me to handle and that’s what I'm wondering with this. I don’t have the funds for a full restoration.

one of my first jobs on the list would be to get it on a lift, steam clean and protect the underneath. Followed by wheel bearings.

Thank you in advance for any help you can give me.

Roscobbc