Newbie Introduction

Derek Nicol

Well-known user
Hi, may i introduce myself and my Vette..
I joined the CCCUK today. Im local to the CCC Nats Hotel. My background is 36 years riding & 2 years racing Motorcycles, i have a Moto Guzzi California Vintage, and 10 years owning & driving Hot Rods, a Pop & a 32 Coupe which i sold a few years ago. While i loved the cars i felt that i hadnt found my home in the UK Hot Rod scene but every cloud has a silver lining, that freed me up to scratch another itch that i had been putting up with for 40 years, the C3 Corvette. One of my early exposures to Corvettes was as a teenager on a family boating holiday on the Norfolk Broads, we went for a walk in a tiny village and stumbled upon a Corvette Mecca in what seemed like the most unlikely place. I remember they had a C1 there belonging to Diana Dors. Around that time i also started going to the car shows at Alexandra Palace, Olympia and the NEC. It didnt take long to fall in love with the C3 but all good things must come to an end, while i wasnt particularly taken at the time with the C3's updates in 78 & 80, the introduction of the C4 spelt the end of my interest in the Corvette brand. Fast forward to 2020 and i started looking for a pre-78 C3 and the more i looked the more i started to appreciate the 78-79 and 80-82 cars (and even gained an appreciation for the C4), how perceptions can change. Then i spotted the YouTube sales videos from 'Carrot Town Garage' and a very yellow1981 with sidepipes...

Attachments

• Vette 2013 c.jpg
    Vette 2013 c.jpg
    224.2 KB · Views: 25
  • Vette 2019 SQ.jpg
    Vette 2019 SQ.jpg
    145.1 KB · Views: 27
  • Vette 2020 SQ L CTG.jpg
    Vette 2020 SQ L CTG.jpg
    349.8 KB · Views: 28
  • Vette 2020 In CTG.jpg
    Vette 2020 In CTG.jpg
    204.6 KB · Views: 28

Chuffer

CCCUK regional rep